Busy Days

I have been busy in the home lately getting ready for baby, cleaning, baking and gardening.

1. Finished 5 bibs made from my husband old shirts and some velcro. I still have 1 more to finish sewing I ran out of thread in the middle of it and haven’t had time to finish it.

2.  Baked blueberry muffins (these were not so great) and some blueberry coffee cake which turned out to be very tasty. I like to bake but I wish I knew how the recipes would come out before I made them I hate wasting money on food.

Muffins

 

3. Started a budget and I am writing down everything I have purchased for this month so I can get an idea of any wasteful spending. I already know I eat too much out of the house and have to remember to bring a snack with me when I go shopping since baby and I get hungry every 2 hours.

4.  Concentrating on more dog training with Brownie so she will be ready for when the baby comes. Monkey will be fine she does her own thing and will be curious about baby but won’t accidently jump on him/her.

5. Purchased all my seedlings and hope to be finished planting by the end of this week. DH tilled down by the creek so I will be able to put in all my big squash plants and maybe some sunflowers.

6. Almost finished with my bedroom which was a giant mess once we get the rug out of there and figure out what to do with the floor maybe we can finally sleep up there instead of the small bedroom downstairs.

7. Kept the kitchen in a relatively clean state which is such a relief and makes it much easier to cook in.

I have much more to do and I am looking forward to having the time to finish it before the baby comes.

4 thoughts on “Busy Days

  1. Your blueberry muffins look great! Great job with the training of your dog too. I have so many projects I want to get done before baby #5 arrives in 10 weeks. All the best!
    Lusi 🙂

    1. Thanks! This is my first baby but I am 1 of 5 and I have always loved kids so I am not too nervous about it. I just know that what I don’t finish will be unfinished for a long time once baby gets here I am due in early Sept. Good luck with baby #5!

  2. I know what you mean about the recipes. I collect so many recipes, I don’t always remember how well they came out unless they were a disaster, which means the recipe is either thrown away, marked through or noted with a ‘Yuck!’ What I do now is mark them with ratings of ‘loved it!’, ‘good’, or put a name if only one person loved it. That way I know to use a recipe if that person is going to be at a meal (or if I’m not too happy with them, I know just what to cook! hehehe).

    Anyway… here’s our favorite blueberry muffin recipe. Most people seem to love it. I even have a regular trick-or-treater whom requests it when I make my goodies for Halloween.

    Best Blueberry Muffins (makes 24 small muffins)

    2 cups plain flour
    1 cup sugar (caster)
    1 tablespoon baking powder
    1 tsp salt
    2 eggs
    ¼ cup oil
    ¼ cup melted butter
    ¾ cup milk
    1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

    Combine all dry ingredients, and in separate bowl mix all wet ingredients. Fold wet and dry ingredients together. Fold in blueberries.

    Put paper cases in muffin tins (or grease) and fill to about a ¼ inch from top of each muffin well. Bake at 180C/350F about 20-25 minutes until tops firm to touch and lightly golden brown. Cool on rack.

    * I usually bake two batches of muffins at a time because everyone loves them. And if any are left over, freeze them.

    Gook luck and hope you like them.

    1. Thanks so much! Hopefully I will have time to try this recipe out. Rating recipes sounds like a good idea too. I am sure I can come up with a system now that I am doing more cooking. My husband is a much better cook than I am and he doesn’t use recipes at all so I haven’t had much to rate yet besides baking recipes.

Leave a Reply

